Food, Cycling & Sweat

My journey to eat and live a healthy life!

Good Morning Breakfast!

with 2 comments

I finally tried what everyone is talking about… overnight oats! Oatmeal seems all the rave around the blogging food-o-sphere, like here, here, and here. Final verdict: back to the drawing board. And because I am such a bad blogger, I didn’t take any pics so I will give you a shot of my half finished locally roasted Kaladi Brothers Coffee instead:

Anyways, back to the oats. My attempt was an apple cinnamon (for lack of other ingredients, i.e. strawberries – *cry*) and my first impression was simply ICK! But, try try again is the old motto, so I did. I promptly decided to warm them up over the stove and that seemed to do the trick for me. They were decent, but I think I have something against cinnamon. Either way, when my fridge is refilled with good toppings, I will definitely give this breakfast a second go.

Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats (for two):

1 cup oats

1 cup skim milk

2 Tbsp wheat germ

2 Tbsp golden flax seeds

2 tsp sucanat

1 apple of choice

pinch cinnamon to taste

-combine ingredients to sucanat, mix, and refrigerate over night.

-chop apple into bite size chunks, combine ingredients in pan, add cinnamon and stir over med/low heat until desired temperature. Serve and enjoy.

The whole reason behind the attempted breakfast is the simplicity of it. Add berries, vanilla, PB, you name it! The possibilities are endless! And for somebody that works at 6:30 am (my loving wife who too often skips breakfast), simplicity is a must in the morning!

Well, I’m off for now to read more blogs before work.

Question: What is your favorite oats flavor/topping combination?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have something against cinnamon?!? What kind of food blogger are you? Hehe, just kidding – my husband isn’t a huge fan either.

    Favorite oat topping…oh gosh, that’s a tough one. These days, it’s a square of unsweetened Baker’s chocolate and a big dollop of nut butter all swirled together and melted.

    P.S. I LOVE that coffee mug!

    Heather Eats Almond Butter

    August 18, 2010 at 8:21 am

    • chocolate and nut butter sounds great! for me it’s gonna be strawberries on top of good ‘ol oatmeal! love strawberries! thx for the comment!

      dcwright02

      August 18, 2010 at 4:22 pm


Leave a comment